Erica Gavel elected vice-chair of Canadian Paralympic Athletes’ Council

Canadian Paralympic Committee

January 29, 2021

Wheelchair basketball player in her second term on the council

Erica Gavel celebrates winning gold at the Lima 2019 Parapan Am Games

Rio 2016 Paralympian Erica Gavel has been elected vice-chair of the Canadian Paralympic Athletes’ Council, as selected by her fellow council members. 

“I am elated to be selected as vice-chair of the CPC Athletes’ Council,” said Gavel. “Over the last couple of years, we have made tremendous progress regarding athlete involvement, terms of reference, and impact within CPC and respective stakeholders. I thank my fellow council members in selecting me as vice-chair and I can’t wait to make a continued impact within Paralympic sport in Canada, but also internationally.”

Gavel, a member of the Canadian women’s national wheelchair basketball team, was elected to her second term on the council in December, alongside newcomers Ina Forrest (wheelchair curling) and Mike Whitehead (wheelchair rugby). She joins chair Tony Walby (Para judo) in a leadership role. 

The other members of the Athletes’ Council are Rob Armstrong (Para ice hockey), Jennifer Brown (Para athletics), and Alison Levine (boccia). 

“Erica is a dedicated, passionate, and valuable voice within the Paralympic Movement in Canada and her role as a leader has definitely increased over the past few years,” said Walby. “She will make a superb vice-chair, and I am excited to work side-by-side with her, as well as the other members of the council.”   

For more information on the Canadian Paralympic Athletes’ Council, please visit

Can Crew Newsletter

Receive the latest news, athlete stories, and behind-the-scenes access directly to your inbox.

"*" indicates required fields