Boccia’s Best Back in Montréal at the Annual Défi sportif AlterGo National Open

Canadian Paralympic Committee

April 25, 2024

Montréal’s Marc-Antoine Goupil will be one to watch at the 2024 Défi sportif AlterGo National Open, defending his title of BC5 Champion

Marc-Antoine Goupil during a Boccia match. | Marc-Antoine Goupil lors d'un match de boccia.

By Boccia Canada

The 41st edition of Défi sportif AlterGo kicks off in three days with the National Boccia Open hosted at the Maurice Richard Arena from April 26 to 28. Montreal has been a hub for boccia since the Défi sportif AlterGo first began hosting the annual National Boccia Open about 25 years ago.
The National Open will bring some of the best boccia athletes from across Canada with representation from British Columbia, Ontario, Québec, and Newfoundland and Labrador. The competition will include individual play only and will feature two classes not yet recognized internationally, in BC5 and Open classifications.

Forty-seven athletes are participating in the National Boccia Open as part of the 2024 Défi sportif AlterGo.
Chris Halpen (Victoria, BC)
Dorya Belal (Brossard, QC)
Hanif Mawji (Burnaby, BC)
Justine Bureau (Lévis, QC)
Krystel Larose (Montréal, QC)
Kyle Scott (Hamilton, ON)
Mario Girard (Montréal, QC)
Stephen Westcott (Conception Bay South, NL)
Bastien Huard (Lévis, QC)
Benoit Ostiguy (Montréal, QC)
Christopher Labelle (Blainville, QC)
Danny Pouliot (Saint-Lambert, QC)
David Simoneau (Montréal, QC)
Dominic Gomez (Whitby, ON)
Gaétan Lottinville (Montréal, QC)
Margot Vignal (Montréal, QC)
Marie-Laurence Bolduc (Sainte-Marie de Beauce, QC)
Mégane Ravary (Montréal, QC)
Olivier Dussault (Québec City, QC)
Olivier Roy* (Québec City, QC)
Pierre-Yves Lévesque (Montréal, QC)
Samuel Maurice (Saint-Anne-des-Plaines, QC)
Sandrine Dion (Laval, QC)
Alexandre Raymond (Sorel-Tracy, QC); Ass’t: Isabelle Blette
Alexandre Ziegler (Montréal, QC); Ass’t: Éric Ziegler
Amine Loulidi (Montréal, QC); Ass’t: Loubna Benabdelali
Bryce Desrochers (Ottawa, ON); Ass’t: Rolly Desrochers
Carter Plumb (Brampton, ON); Ass’t: Jennifer Knight
Esraa Sbeiti (Montréal, QC); Ass’t: Reghada Sbeiti
Fatima Zahra Abderrahmane (Montréal, QC); Ass’t Marie-Josée Duchesne
Jennifer Goulet (Oshawa, ON); Ass’t: Terry Goulet
Josh Gautier (Niagara Falls, ON); Ass’t: Joyce Gautier
Mariane Paquet (Québec City, QC); Ass’t: Martine Auger
Nico Iemma (Oshawa, ON); Ass’t: Patrick Iemma
Samuel Lafleur (Saint Dominic, QC); Ass’t: Nathalie Laflamme
Sylvie Maheu (Montréal, QC); Ass’t: René Nicolas
Andrew Woodrow (St. John’s, NL)
Jean-Loup Lamiot (Montréal, QC)
Marc-Antoine Goupil (Honfleur, QC)
Ariane Dubuc (Montréal, QC)
Ariane Soulard (Montréal, QC)
Daniel Hutchison (Victoria, BC)
Hunter Cross (Oshawa, ON)
Kylie Waters (Victoria, BC)
Myriam Morin (Montréal, QC)
Nancie Caldwell (Montréal, QC)
Richard Brochu (Montréal, QC)

Can Crew Newsletter

Receive the latest news, athlete stories, and behind-the-scenes access directly to your inbox.

"*" indicates required fields