CPC Athletes’ Council releases strategic plan

Canadian Paralympic Committee

June 13, 2019

"We will advocate for athlete representation at all levels in the Canadian sporting system"


OTTAWA – The Canadian Paralympic Committee Athletes’ Council is looking ahead at the next four years as it released its new 2019-2022 strategic plan today. 

Chaired by Tony Walby, a two-time Paralympian in Para judo who was elected leader late last year, the council is comprised of current and retired Paralympians and serves as the collective voice and advocate of Paralympic athletes in Canada. 

The strategic plan reveals four key pillars: advocating for athlete representation at the CPC and member organizations, promoting opportunities for athletes that will benefit them during and after their athletic careers, increasing the profiles of the Council and its members, and advancing communication between the Council and stakeholder groups. 

CLICK HERE to view the complete strategic plan. 

“We have aligned the Athletes’ Council Strategic Plan to work alongside the objectives of the CPC strategy, allowing us to focus on the most important thing: the athletes,” said Walby. “Through this strategic plan we will advocate for athlete representation at all levels in the Canadian sporting system and promote athlete achievements and athlete services.”

The plan also connects to the strategy recently released by the International Paralympic Committee Athletes’ Council, which focuses on the role of athletes ‘at the heart’ of the Paralympic Movement. 

“As an athlete-centered organization, we fully support and applaud the Athletes’ Council for their work on this strategic plan and their leadership within our community,” said Marc-André Fabien, president, Canadian Paralympic Committee. “The athletes are at the absolute core of everything we do, and this strategic plan is so important to the work CPC does daily. We will be fully engaged with the Athletes’ Council and look forward to working with them on implementing these plans and helping to elevate the opportunities and influence our athletes have.”

The Athletes’ Council is comprised of: Walby, Rob Armstrong (Para ice hockey), Alison Levine (boccia), Jennifer Brown (Para athletics), Erica Gavel (wheelchair basketball), Kirk Schornstein (Para alpine skiing), and Ross Wilson (Para cycling).  

Can Crew Newsletter

Receive the latest news, athlete stories, and behind-the-scenes access directly to your inbox.

"*" indicates required fields