Checking in with Paralympians: Coaches and athletes honoured

Canadian Paralympic Committee

November 09, 2020

Coaches win awards, athletes elected to AthletesCAN board


Canada’s Paralympians are staying busy, getting back to training, sharing their stories and opinions on social media, and more. We will check in regularly with what the nation’s Para athletes have been up to and share some of the top highlights here. 

Here’s a quick look at some recent updates: 

Para athlete coaches grabbed 11 of 23 Coaching Association of Canada Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards awarded last week during the organization’s annual Leadership Conference. The winners included:

Heather Hennigar, Para athletics
Richard Wooles, Para cycling
Wayne Kiel, Wheelchair curling
Eric Kramer, Para swimming
Ken Hall, Para athletics
Marc-André Pelletier, Para swimming
Nicholas Perron, Para swimming
Guillaume Plourde, Para cycling
Mike Thompson, Para swimming
Sébastien Travers, Para cycling
Leonard Roxon, Para swimming

Watch the entire ceremony



Here are two salutes from the athletes to their winning coaches:
Nathan Riech: 



Katarina Roxon:



Meanwhile AthletesCAN recently announced its newly elected board members and they include national team Para swimmer Camille Bérubé. National wheelchair basketball team member Bo Hedges was also re-elected to the board for a second term.  



Para ice hockey players Kieran Block and Cody Dolan were featured on Global News Edmonton for their mentorship program through Classroom Champions.



Can Crew Newsletter

Receive the latest news, athlete stories, and behind-the-scenes access directly to your inbox.

"*" indicates required fields