Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the 2011 Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame Induction

October 25, 2011

Disponible en anglais seulement

Canada NewsWire

OTTAWA, Oct. 21, 2011

OTTAWA, Oct. 21, 2011 /CNW/ - Canada's Paralympic athletes are an enormous source of inspiration for all Canadians. Our athletes, as well as the coaches, officials, and others who promote the Paralympic movement in Canada, serve as models of dedication and the steadfast pursuit of excellence. They inspire pride in all Canadians and have also been effective goodwill ambassadors for our country.

Our Government is proud to support and promote the dedication and commitment of our elite athletes, and we are pleased to celebrate their many achievements, including the induction of this year's honourees into the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame.

This year, the Hall of Fame welcomes Ljiljana (Lilo) Ljubisic, Clayton Gerein, and Michael Edgson as athletes; Dr. Earl Church as a coach; and Senator Joyce Fairbairn as a builder.

As Minister of State (Sport), I would like to congratulate this year's inductees into the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame. Your drive and commitment to excellence have taken you to the pinnacle of your sport, and generations of Canadians who visit the Hall of Fame will be inspired by your achievements. I would also like to commend the Canadian Paralympic Committee and everyone involved with the Hall of Fame on the work they do to promote and pay tribute to our outstanding athletes.

Read more: