Montreal hosts the Americas for sitting volleyball worlds qualifier October 26-29

October 18, 2017

OTTAWA - The 2017 ParaVolley Pan American Zone Sitting Volleyball Championships for men and women will take place at Montreal’s Complexe sportif Claude-Robillard from October 26 to 29, 2017.

“Both our teams have been training hard all summer in preparation for this event, which is the focus of our 2017 competition season,’’ said Ian Halliday, Volleyball Canada’s sitting volleyball high performance director.

‘’With a new coaching staff for the men’s program, we have been working to implement a stronger team culture and a new style of play. We are excited to finally be able to put some of our work into practice and evaluate our progress against some of the top teams in our zone."

The women’s program is looking to build upon their experiences and successes from the Rio 2016 Games where they placed seventh, and the 2015 Parapan American Games where they took the bronze.

“While most of the 2016 team has returned for the 2017 season, we have added two new athletes that we feel will positively contribute to the team’s performance and provide us with more depth in certain positions,” said Halliday.
With only three teams participating in the women’s Zonal Championship, Canada’s women’s team will receive an automatic berth to the 2018 World Championships. 

“So this event is an opportunity for us to implement some new systems and strategies against two of the top teams in the world,” said Halliday.
The 2018 World ParaVolley Sitting Volleyball World Championships are scheduled for the Netherlands.
On the men’s side, Canada will compete against Brazil, USA and Costa Rica with the top two teams qualifying for the 2018 World Championships. The third and fourth place teams from this tournament will hope to qualify through world ranking allocations.

The Canadian men earned bronze at the last two Parapan Ams in 2011 and 2015.
Web cast: the weekend games will be streamed on 



1          Jesse Ward, Calgary, AB     
2          Mikael Bartholdy, Calgary, AB          
3          Austin Hinchey, Edmonton, AB
7          Douglas Learoyd, Calgary, AB          
8          Massoud Khanmohammad, Richmond Hill, ON
9          Andrew Tucker, Toronto, ON
10         Christopher Bird, Nanaimo, BC
12         Jamoi Anderson, Brampton, ON
13         Dariusz Symonowicz, Toronto, ON    
14         Raymond Gauthier, Edmonton, AB    
20         Jesse Buckingham, Toronto, ON       
RS        Adam Knox, Edmonton, AB
Head coach                 Jeff Smith, Grande Prairie, AB
Assistant coach           Krystle Bush, Grande Prairie, AB
Physiotherapist              Caitlin Baker, Grande Prairie, AB
Physiotherapist              Yung Yung Wong, Edmonton, AB
Sport Psychologist         Matt Bain, Grande Prairie, AB



1          Tessa Popoff, Langley, BC
2          Julie Kozun, Saskatoon, SK
3          Danielle Ellis, Langley, BC    
5          Chantal Beauchesne, St. Isidore, ON
6          Angelena Dolezar, Edmonton, AB   
7          Anne Fergusson, Carleton Place, ON
8          Jolan Wong, Pembroke, ON    
9          Sarah Melenka, Vegreville, AB 
10         Jennifer Oakes, Calgary, AB
11         Heidi Peters, Neerlandia, AB
12         Amber Skyrpan, Plamondon, AB 
14         Katelyn Wright, Edmonton, AB
15         Felicia Voss-Shafiq, Burnaby, BC       
17         Leaha Severson, Leduc, AB
Head coach                Nicole Ban, Edmonton, AB
Assistant coach            Christine Smyth, Edmonton, AB
Physiotherapist              Lauren Demers, Edmonton, AB
Physiotherapist              Yung Yung Wong, Edmonton, AB
Sport Psychologist         Erin Brennan, Edmonton, AB