Inductees arriving in Ottawa for 2015 Paralympic Hall of Fame ceremony

November 24, 2015

Hall of Fame logo

OTTAWA – Nov. 24, 2015 – Some of Canada’s most accomplished Paralympic athletes, coaches and builders will be in Ottawa this Friday, Nov. 28 for the 2015 Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame ceremony.

A magnificent group of seven individuals were announced last month as the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame inductees for 2015.

Biographies and photos of all inductees can be viewed here:

Media are invited to interview the class of 2015 inductees (or family members) and to capture photo and video during the evening ceremony.


2015 Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame ceremony


Friday, Nov. 27, 2015

6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.


Shaw Centre, 55 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1N 9J2


Gaétan Tardif, President, Canadian Paralympic Committee

Karen O’Neill, CEO, Canadian Paralympic Committee

Athletes: wheelchair racer Chantal Petitclerc of Montreal, Que., para-alpine skier Lauren Woolstencroft, of Banff, Alta., wheelchair basketball player Marni Abbott-Peter of Vancouver, B.C.

Coach: the late Wilf Strom of Winnipeg, Man.

Builders: Audrey Strom of Winnipeg, Man., Donald Royer of Sherbrooke, Que., the late Gary McPherson of Edmonton, Alta.

MEDIA CONTACT: Media requesting interviews are asked to contact Alison Korn at / Cell: 613-298-4927

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee Hall of Fame

Initiated in 2000, the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates those who have made a significant contribution to the growth and development of the Paralympic Movement in Canada. These individuals will be acknowledged within the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame Honoured Members section located in the Olympic and Paralympic Gallery at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in Calgary. The Canadian Paralympic Committee holds an induction process every two years, during a non-Paralympic Games year.

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Paralympic Committee is a non-profit, private organization with 25 member sports organizations dedicated to strengthening the Paralympic Movement. The Canadian Paralympic Committee's vision is to be the world's leading Paralympic nation. Its mission is to lead the development of a sustainable Paralympic sport system in Canada to enable athletes to reach the podium at the Paralympic Games. By supporting Canadian high performance athletes with a disability and promoting their success, the Canadian Paralympic Committee inspires all Canadians with a disability to get involved in sport through programs delivered by its member organizations. For more information, visit




Alison Korn

Senior Manager, Media Relations and Communications
Canadian Paralympic Committee
Phone: 613-569-4333 ext. 243
Cell: 613-298-4927

Martin Richard
Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
Canadian Paralympic Committee
Tel: 613-569-4333 ext. 224
Cell: 613-725-4339


Follow the Canadian Paralympic Committee: