Canadians win three Paracanoe World Cup medals

May 26, 2014

Christian Maranda (photo: Balint Vekassy)SZEGED, HUNGARY – The Canadian sprint CanoeKayak team started into finals today at the third ICF World Cup in Szeged, Hungary.

In Olympic events, Ben Russell of Dartmouth, NS and Gabriel Beauchesne-Sevigny of Trois-Rivières, QC placed seventh in the Men’s C2 1000. Mark Oldershaw of Burlington, ON was eighth in the Men’s C1 1000. Émilie Fournel of Lachine, QC placed ninth in the Women’s K1 500.

All three Canadian Paracanoe athletes earned medals in their events. Dave Waters of Fox Pointe, NS captured a silver in the Men’s V1 200 TA. Christian Maranda of Québec, QC won a bronze in the Men’s K1 200 LTA. Five-time World Champion Christine Gauthier of Pointe-Claire, QC won a bronze in Women’s K1 200 TA.

In 200 metre semi-finals, Halifax’s Mark de Jonge won his semi-final to move through to tomorrow’s final. de Jonge won last week’s World Cup and will line up to defend the top spot tomorrow. Jason McCoombs of Dartmouth, NS went through to the final in C1 200 with a third place result in his semi. The K2 200 metre crew of Hugues Fournel from Lachine, QC and Étienne Morneau of Québec, QC also placed third in their semi and will race the final tomorrow.

The sprint World Cup tour will wrap up tomorrow and the Canadian team will return to prepare for National Team Trials and World Championships. Slalom World Cups start June 6.

Summary of Results




Ben Russell (Dartmouth, NS) & Gabriel Beauchesne-Sevigny (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Men’s C2 1000

7th  (3:52.17)

Mark Oldershaw (Burlington, ON)

Men’s C1 1000

8th (4:12.98)

Émilie Fournel (Lachine, QC)

Women’s K1 500

9th (1:58.72)

Dave Waters (Fox Pointe, NS)

Men’s V1 200 TA

2nd (58.555)

Silver medal

Christian Maranda (Québec, QC)

Men’s K1 200 LTA

3rd (46.267)

Bronze medal

Christine Gauthier (Pointe-Claire, QC)

Women’s K1 200 TA

3rd (59.974)

Bronze medal

Adam van Koeverden (Oakville, ON)

Men’s K1 1000 

10th (3:41.80)

Michelle Russell (Waverley, NS)

Women’s K1 500

12th (2:01.41)

KC Fraser (Toronto, ON) & Hannah Vaughan (Dartmouth, NS)

Women’s K2 500

15th (1:52.34)

Una Lounder (Dartmouth, NS)

Women’s K1 1000

9th (4:33.84)

Brady Reardon (Burlington, ON), Phillipe Duchesneau (Sherbrooke, QC), Andrew Jessop (Halifax, NS) & Rob Clarke (Mississauga, ON)

Men’s K4 1000


12th (3:07.13)

Paul Bryant (Richmond Hill, ON) & Roland Varga (Richmond Hill, ON)

Men’s C2 1000

13th (3:54.50)




200 metre semi-finals



Mark de Jonge (Halifax, NS)

Men’s K1 200

1st in semi (35.383)

Advanced to A-final

Hugues Fournel (Lachine, QC) & Étienne Morneau (Québec, QC)

Men’s K2 200

3rd in semi (32.449)

Advanced to A-final

Jason McCoombs (Dartmouth, NS)

Men’s C1 200

3rd in semi (40.850)

Advanced to A-final

Michelle Russell (Waverley, NS)

Women’s K1 200

5th in semi (41.932)

Advanced to B-final

Émilie Fournel (Lachine, QC), KC Fraser (Toronto, ON), Una Lounder (Dartmouth, NS) & Hannah Vaughan (Dartmouth, NS)

Women’s K4 500

5th in semi (1:39.50)

Advanced to B-final

Ryan Cochrane (Windsor, NS) & Richard Dober Jr. (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Men’s K2 200

6th in semi (32.827)

Advanced to B-final

Ben Tardioli (Ottawa, ON)

Men’s C1 200

6th in semi (41.208)

Advanced to B-final


Full Results & Start Lists

Broadcast Schedule 

Photos – credit: Balint Vekassy

CanoeKayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. The organization’s vision is to be a Canadian sport for families, communities and champions. From supporting clubs to developing a competitive National Team, CanoeKayak Canada works to grow a sport which is a rich part of Canada’s heritage.




Media Contact:

Ian Miller
Communications and Marketing Officer, CanoeKayak Canada