Canadian Paralympic Committee applauds the Ontario Government for the launch of Game ON

November 24, 2015

Nov. 24, 2015 – OTTAWA - Today, the Ontario Government launched a new sport plan to help more Ontarians participate and excel in sport.

Game ON builds on a strong existing foundation of sport organizations, programs and investments. It recognizes the many ways in which organized sport can be good for people and communities, from the health benefits of physical activity to the economic benefits of hosting major events.

"This is an exceptional follow up and extended legacy to the 2015 Pan Am/Parapan Games. The sport plan builds upon and enhances the current sport system and capacity in Ontario to create a strong and accessible pathway for all athletes, coaches and officials. We look forward to working with Ontario in this exciting initiative to increase the level of opportunities in sport for Ontarians living with a disability.”

- Karen O’Neill, CEO of the Canadian Paralympic Committee




About the Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Paralympic Committee is a non-profit, private organization with 25 member sports organizations dedicated to strengthening the Paralympic Movement. The Canadian Paralympic Committee's vision is to be the world's leading Paralympic nation. Its mission is to lead the development of a sustainable Paralympic sport system in Canada to enable athletes to reach the podium at the Paralympic Games. By supporting Canadian high performance athletes with a disability and promoting their success, the Canadian Paralympic Committee inspires all Canadians with a disability to get involved in sport through programs delivered by its member organizations. For more information, visit




Alison Korn

Senior Manager, Media Relations and Communications
Canadian Paralympic Committee
Phone: 613-569-4333 ext. 243
Cell: 613-298-4927

Martin Richard
Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
Canadian Paralympic Committee
Tel: 613-569-4333 ext. 224
Cell: 613-725-4339

Follow the Canadian Paralympic Committee: