2013 Selection Camp Roster For Men's & Women's National Wheelchair Basketball Teams Announced

December 20, 2012

(Ottawa, ON) Wheelchair Basketball Canada has released the list of Canada's top wheelchair basketball players attending Team Canada's 2013 Selection Camp, which returns to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas January 2-8, 2013.

Forty-six athletes (22 men and 24 women) will compete for 12 roster spots on each of the Canadian Men's Team and Women's Teams. The camp roster includes eight returning players from the London 2012 Paralympic gold medal winning men's team, and nine returning players from the women's team.

The 46 athletes attending selection camp are: (athletes' city of residence indicated / athletes with Paralympic Games experience denoted with a *):



Aaron Moseley-Williams (Winnipeg, Man.)
Abdi Dini (Scarborough, Ont.) *
Adam Lancia (Halifax, N.S.) *
Anthony Purcell (Burnaby, B.C.)
Alex Courcelles (Saint-Roch-de-l'Achigan, Que.)
Brandon Wagner (Burlington, Ont.) *
Corey Smith (Ottawa, Ont.)
Chad Jassman (Calgary, Alta.) *
David Eng (Montreal, Que.) *
Deion Green (Victoria, B.C.)
Gregg Johnstone (Regina, Sask.)
Jonathan Vermette (Sherbrooke, Que.)
Justin Johnson (Milner, B.C.)
Kevin Wakeling (Cambridge, Ont.)
Mickael Poulin (Quebec, Que.)
Mitchell Bossaer (Saskatoon, Sask.)
Nikola Goncin (Regina, Sask.)
Philippe Vermette (Sherbrooke, Que.)
Reid Richard (Tyvan, Sask.)
Robert "Bo" Hedges (Wonowon, B.C.) *
Tyler Miller (Kitchener, Ont.) *
Yvon Rouillard (Montreal, Que.) *

Head Coach: Jerry Tonello (Toronto, ON)

Alarissa Haak (Edmonton, Alta.)
Andrea Wojcik (Calgary, Alta.)
Amanda Yan (Vancouver, B.C.)
Ashley Baerg (Dalmeny, Sask.)
Catherine Pashko (Edmonton, Alta.)
Corin Metzger (Elmira, Ont.)
Christina Swett (Ottawa, Ont.)
Cindy Ouellet (Quebec, Que.) *
Darda Jane Sales (London, Ont.)
Elaine Allard (St. Eustache, Que.) *
Gabby Roberts-Winter (Regina, Sask.)
Helaina Cyr (Edmonton, Alta.)
Katie Harnock (Elmira, Ont.) *
Jamey Jewells (Donkin, N.S.) *
Janet McLachlan (Vancouver, B.C.) *
Jessica Forgeron (Calgary, Alta.)
Maude Jacques (Ste-Catherine, Que.) *
Melanie Hawtin (Oakville, Ont.)
Sophia Geffros (Waterford, Ont.)
Sheri-lyn Roberts (Cambridge, Ont.)
Stephanie Park (Maple Ridge, B.C.)
Tamara Steeves (Mississauga, Ont.) *
Tara Feser (St. Albert, Alta.) *
Tracey Ferguson (Richmond Hill, Ont.) *

Head Coach: Bill Johnson (Winnipeg, Man.)

About Team Canada

The Senior Men's National Team went undefeated at the London 2012 Paralympics to capture their third gold medal in four Paralympic Games. It is the latest accomplishment in a sport dynasty that has placed them on the podium at four consecutive Paralympics and at five of the last six World Championships.

The Senior Women's National Team is amongst the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history. The team captured three consecutive Paralympic gold medals in 1992, 1996, and 2000, and bronze in 2004. They have also reached the podium at six consecutive World Championships.

About Wheelchair Basketball Canada

Wheelchair Basketball Canada is the national sports governing body responsible for the organization of wheelchair basketball in Canada. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that is the Canadian member to the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF).

Wheelchair basketball is a fast-paced, hard-hitting, competitive sport that has emerged as one of the most competitive and athletic sports played at the Paralympic Games. Our senior national teams are held in high esteem around the world for the elite skill and control that placed them on the podium with a combined six gold and one silver medal in the last six Paralympic Games.

For more information, visit: www.wheelchairbasketball.ca


For more information, to request a photo, or to schedule an interview contact:

Jody Kingsbury, Manager
Communications & Media Relations
Wheelchair Basketball Canada
T: 613-260-1296 ext. 204

Courtney Pollock, Coordinator
Communications & Media Relations
Wheelchair Basketball Canada
T: 613-260-1296 ext. 200