10 returnees on Canadian women’s sledge hockey team

September 23, 2015


OTTAWA - Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada announced its 16- player national team for the 2015-2016 season.

The roster was finalized following a three-day selection camp at the Goulbourn Recreation Complex in Ottawa. The camp included two practices and two intra-squad games. Twenty-five players were in contention for the coveted sixteen spots. Four alternate players are included on the roster.

There are two goaltenders, six defensemen and eight forwards. Head coachTara Chisholm (Medicine Hat, AB) assembled the roster with support from assistant coach Derek Whitson (Chatham, ON), former coach Keith Metzger (Elmira, ON) and a group of independent evaluators.

The roster includes 10 players who helped Canada claim silver at the 2014 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey International Women’s Cup in Brampton, Ontario: Alanna Mah (Edmonton, AB), Ashley Goure (Chatham, ON), Christina Picton (Fonthill, ON), Claire Buchanan (Brampton,ON), Danica McPhee (Sudbury, ON), Geneva Coulter (Edmonton, AB), Jessie Gregory(Brantford, ON), Peggy Assinck (Vancouver, BC), Thea Hill (Surrey, BC) and Vanessa Racine (Saint-Jérôme, QC).

Two players originate from British Columbia with three from Alberta, seven from Ontario and four from Quebec.

The six new players are:Jessica Matasa (Windsor, ON), Mackenzie Spong, (London, ON), Myriam Adam (Chicoutimi, QC), Sarah Mickey (Redcliff, AB), Sophie Forest (Lavel, QC) and Véronique Major (Québec City, QC).

For more information on the Canadian Women’s Sledge Hockey Team and Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada, please visit www.canadianwomensledgehockey.com and social media at twitter.com/@CSHWT and facebook.com/CSHWT.

WOMEN’S NATIONAL ICE SLEDGE HOCKEY TEAM (name, date of birth, hometown, club)


Sophie Forest, 02/06/1997, Laval, QC, Les Pirates de Montréal

Jessie Gregory, 08/24/1984, Brantford, ON, Niagara Thunderblades



Peggy Assinck, 05/08/1983, Vancouver, BC BC Eagles

Geneva Coulter, 01/01/1999, Edmonton, AB, Edmonton Impact

Ashley Goure, 07/06/1990, Chatham, ON, Windsor Ice Bullets

Thea Hill, 09/10/1981, Surrey, BC, BC Eagles

Sarah Mickey, 07/10/1998, Redcliff, AB, Medicine Hat Hockey Hounds

Mackenzie Spong, 09/28/2000, London, ON, London Blizzard



Myriam Adam, 07/11/1993, Chicoutimi, QC, Rive-Sud de Montréal

Claire Buchanan, 09/13/1987, Brampton, ON, Mississauga Cruisers

Alanna Mah, 09/17/1999, Edmonton, AB Edmonton Impact

Véronique Major, 12/31/1989, Québec City, QC Les Griffons

Jessica Matassa, 06/06/1986 Windsor, ON, Windsor Ice Bullets

Danica McPhee, 12/09/1989, Sudbury, ON, Mississauga Cruisers

Christina Picton, 04/06/1993, Fonthill, ON, Niagara Thunderblades

Vanessa Racine, 05/30/1991, Saint-Jérôme, QC, Hockey Luge Laval



Shawnie Snell, 10/04/1993, Corunna, ON, Sarnia Icehawks

Tuyet Yurczyszyn, 08/06/1966, Brantford, ON, Hamilton Sledgehammers

Nandini Sharma, 10/02/1997, Brampton, ON, Mississauga Cruisers

Samantha Helgeland, 07/31/1991, Edmonton, AB, Edmonton Impact



President, Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada;  Janice Coulter, Edmonton, AB

Head Coach: Tara Chisholm, Medicine Hat, AB

Assistant Coach: Derek Whitson, Chatham, ON

Equipment Manager/Goalie Coach: Kat Ferguson Ottawa, ON

Team Manager: Monica Sparling, Calgary, AB

Physiotherapist: Tracy Auld, Thunderbay, ON

Massage Therapist: Elizabeth, Williams Port Hope, ON

Physiotherapist: Katie Pauhl, Ottawa, ON